top of page
  • Writer's pictureClaire

A Quick Dash into Adventuredome

Updated: Apr 3, 2022


I'M IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA! Dear lord, I cannot stress enough how magical it feels to be back over the Atlantic in the land of peanut butter M&Ms and Baja Blast. And what a place to start this trip. Las Vegas, the city that's practically a theme park in itself. So far I've been here just over 24 hours and it's been WILD. We spent our first full day of the trip exploring the weird and wonderful resorts of the strip, and having marched many miles north of our base at the Luxor, eventually reached Circus Circus, home of The Adventuredome.


The Adventuredome is an indoor theme park located at the back of the resort. Whilst I believe the park used to offer a pay-per-ride option, currently the park only offers a wristband at $40 adults/$30 kids.


This is a park I really didn't think I'd get the chance to visit on this trip. Being here with my wonderful partner Chris is amazing, but he really isn't fond of theme parks. Thankfully, after a quick walk around the park (admission is free, which I was very grateful for) it became clear that everything was a walk-on, and I'd be able to grab one wristband and dash around solo without eating up too much of our day. So, with that in mind I'm going to be honest and say I only rode three rides at this park (don't do the maths, it hurts): Canyon Blaster, El Loco and NebulaZ.


My first stop in the park was NebulaZ. One of the newest models from Zamperla, I knew I'd have to give this thing a go based purely on how darn photogenic it is. I could quite happily just sit and watch one of these operate, they're mesmerising! However, I genuinely didn't expect to enjoy the actual ride experience as much as I did. As a family flat, there's nothing intense here, just regular (beautiful) floater airtime. If I had chance, I would have had many more rides on this. I'd love the UK to get one soon (as I've heard whispers about!)


Next up was El Loco, an S&S... El Loco. This is the same model at Mumbo Jumbo up at Flamingoland in Yorkshire, and damn. My expectations for that ride just went up! I absolutely loved this thing. The layout is nothing short of madness with a 90 degree drop, 45 degree banking, hangtime for days and the brake run is a dive loop. There was one jolt mid-run, but aside from that it was pretty smooth considering the pure chaos it was unleashing too. It's also seemingly impossible to get a decent photo of so apologies for the seemingly unintelligible spaghetti of track above!

My final ride of the visit was Canyon Blaster. Undoubtedly the park's headline attraction, this Arrow looper surrounds the park with it's wonderfully photogenic track continuously swooping through the park's central rockwork. Honestly, I'm glad I left this until last because oh boy it was intense. I had a front-row ride and right from the very first loop my brain was *squeezed*. That said, the layout was great fun and I especially loved the way the ride interacted with the landscaping in the park. Canyon Blaster now also holds the dubious accolade of being the first coaster I lost a personal possession on. RIP headband, I should have thought to remove you but I unexpectedly got rushed on to the train that was about to dispatch. Feeling the band slowly falling off my head whilst the restraints held my arms too tightly to save it? Torture. I'm really sorry Adventuredome!


And that was it for my time in the park! Honestly, if I'd had more time I probably would have done their drop tower but aside from that not too much more anyway aside from re-rides. A large chunk of the rides available were *very* small kids rides, with a few flats that didn't appeal to me either. Even with a low ride-count I'm very glad I was able to stop in and have a (canyon) blast on those I was lucky enough to experience.


Speak again soon,

Claire

X


P.s. this is the first blog I've fully written on my phone so please forgive me if there are any atrocious autocorrect mistakes!



Comments


bottom of page